Board of Directors

In 2008 a group of American university teachers was invited to visit Marbach and to examine the importance of its archive. In the end, the American Friends of Marbach (AFM) was founded.

The Friends’ first meeting in Philadelphia, USA.

Current AFM Board

Honorary Chairman: Walter Hinderer (Princeton University)

Executive Officers:

President: Meike G. Werner (Vanderbilt University)

Vice-President: Johannes von Moltke (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)

Treasurer: Lynn Wolff (Michigan State University)

Secretary: Roland S. Kamzelak (DLA)

Executive Committee: Vance Byrd (Grinnell College), Devin Fore (Princeton University), Veronika Fuechtner (Dartmouth), Matthew Handelman (Michigan State University), Martha Helfer (Rutgers University), Laurie Johnson (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Venkat Mani (University of Wisconsin, Madison), Patrizia McBride (Cornell University), Kirk Wetters (Yale University)

Ex officio members: Heike Gfrereis (DLA, Head of the Museum) Roland S. Kamzelak (DLA, Deputy Director) Anna Kinder (DLA, Research Coordinator) Sandra Richter (DLA, Director)

The AFM Executive Committee organizes one symposium per year. During the years with even numbers it meets at the DLA in Marbach, and in the years with odd numbers at the university where a AFM Executive Committee member is teaching. The symposia at American institutions took place at the University of Pennsylvania (2009), the University of Chicago (2011), Princeton University (2013), Yale University (2015), Washington University in St. Louis (2017) and the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign (2019). The COVID-19 pandemic has delayed the 2020 and 2021 conferences.